Showing posts with label philosophy. Show all posts
Showing posts with label philosophy. Show all posts

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Focus Achieved

I got this random burst of focus today. I got home and got straight to work on studying for the Philosophy and American Government exams I have tomorrow. I thought it was rather peculiar, but I'm actually really excited about it. I hope that this continues, I have two papers due next week and it would be nice to continue having this focus and determination to get things done.

I mean part of me didn't even want to blog right now because I didn't want to lose it. But I'm thinking that's not going to happen considering how quickly I am typing this out.My fingers are literally going to fast for my mind and I keep having to go back and rewrite words because they're spelled incorrectly, and we cannot have that on here.

I think it also helped for me to ignore my computer and phone unless absolutely necessary. My phone is currently plugged into the wall so there isn't easy access to it. And my lap top was on my desk, but I needed to access a power point for some answers to government questions. But I think as soon as I finish this blog it may go back. I'm not positive though because I want to continue listening to music.

My phone was providing earlier, but it died. But at the same time I want to shut it off so I can focus and also so I can save my Spotify hours. I feel like I'm going to get cut off soon, and then I'll only have the music I bothered to pay for. haha.

Also, I just realized tomorrow is the last day of Blog Every Day September. I'm kind of relieved. Only because I've kind of run out of topics to talk about, and I'm sure those of you who actually read this are sick of me complaining about everything. Woo. haha.

Sunday, September 25, 2011

Ugh... reading

I don't know what it is with all this reading. I guess because I've mostly taken journalism courses and I don't feel that they are very heavy with reading. It's more hands on and experiences. And the fact that I took all general education courses except one gives me so much reading. I'm trying to balance it with everything else, but it's proving difficult.

I did get some reading done though. There was lots of productivity on History of England to 1688. It wasn't much, but it's more than normal. I did get my assignments for Ethics done though, so I count that as productivity as well. I do still have to study for American Government and Philosophy, but the test isn't until Friday, so I have time!

And I've kind of been doing the whole judging what I need to read by what's going on, rather than just reading it all. #horriblestudent

Well, back to reading for England.

Monday, September 19, 2011

Just for a second

I keep learning that my bed is the worst place to do homework because of its warmth and comfort, I tend to fall asleep. And then I don't get to be exactly where I want to be homework-wise by the end of the night. I think I'm okay where I'm at right now. I at least finished half of my readings and took my Com Theory Quiz. I got 4.5/ 5 I hate that I missed one. haha. But hey, it happens.

I have some reading for History of England next. It's a lot of reading because I didn't have time to read last week. My birthday kind of got in the way and I didn't really do any reading because I got distracted. And I didn't do anything over the weekend except read for Philosophy. Which put me ahead because I don't have to do any reading till this coming weekend for it.

I do however, need to read for American Government and Ethics as well. What I'm finding curious is that all of my Philosophy, Com Theory and Ethics readings are starting to overlap, they seem to be connected in the ways of Philosophy. Which helps me out because it will become drilled in my mind, yay!

I took on a lot of reading heavy classes this semester. That was something I didn't take into consideration. Although, I am quite grateful there hasn't been too much work aside from reading. I've been assigned a paper for Government and a case study for Ethics. Which is no big deal. I got this. :]

Friday, September 16, 2011

Just SO excited!

I have to blog REALLY early today because I know that I won't be able to later because I'm sure I'll be home after midnight because I'm going to see PRIDE AND PREJUDICE with Peter! So excited. And it will probably be short too because the red velvet birthday cake is in our fridge and it keeps speaking to me. "Eat me Sharayah, happy birthday to you!" haha. XD

I was suppose to go turn in passport paperwork, but unfortunately the passport office is ALREADY closed. Which I don't understand seeing as the post office doesn't close until 5 p.m. Lame, but it's okay because it's open tomorrow too. Thankfully. I need to get that working so I can look into booking a flight to.... ENGLAND! I'm probably going over spring break. I'm crossing my fingers at least. Each step forward is making more and more excited.

I'm also going to Orlando, FL at the end of next month for a journalism conference. Unfortunately, it's during midterms so I'm going have to keep on task and study really hard the next month and a half so I can excel in the time I will miss. I'm really excited though because we are MOST DEFINITELY going to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter and I get to see my friends Ryan and Lizzie. Which, Ryan is actually attending the conference as well, so I'm just one ball of excitedness. This year is going really well.

I'm pretty sure I aced my philosophy quiz too. yay! :]

Sunday, September 11, 2011

Blog time, not on time

It's kind of lame when you inform your classmates early in the day via introduction that you're blogging every day this month, and then forget until 11 p.m. that night you forgot to blog. Nice going, Sharayah. I think the fact of it not being tomorrow yet, makes this okay. I'm trying to decide whether I should start my day off by blogging, but I already have a lot to then.

I was just doing some Philosophy and American Government homework and listening to the instrumental Tangled soundtrack. Well, I don't know if I would call it homework. It was more I decided I was going to read the introduction and first chapter before class this week since we are suppose to have it read anyway. I don't consider reading homework. It's more necessary for me to learn, I've also been taking notes. These notes being key terms, but notes nonetheless.

I'm striving to have immaculate notes this semester. I want to be extremely organized and prepared, I like schedules. I feel like if I'm organized and prepared I'll do better. My friend, Peter, told me recently my life needs an itinerary. I'm not going to lie to you, I agree. I need to know what I'll be doing when. And that's why I give you my Google Calendar/iCal/ Agenda. As I am equipping myself with these this semester.

I have almost everything down to a T. Which I'm liking. I just need to stick to it, aside from going to class. Class is required, everything is optional. And that needs to change. I can't keep procrastinating until the last minute. I have a lot of coursework heavy classes this semester, and it needs to get done NOW!

[Returns to tackling her American Government reading]

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

That first day

Back in school! Yay for schedules! I feel like a real nerd loving school so much, but I just cannot help it. There's just so much here that I love. My friends, my classes, my work, and my passions. I cannot wait for the school year to really kick off though. Now we're just doing the whole run down on the syllabus, aside from newspaper type stuff. But I like it so far.

It's only the first day so I haven't even seen all my classes yet. I'M A JUNIOR NOW! That's so crazy, but so cool. I've been blessed to have someone I know in each of my classes so far, which makes it comforting, especially if I have to miss. Which I really hope I don't. When I got sick in February it took everything in me not to go to class. It was strictly doctor's orders that kept me home.

Although, I am really excited about my professors. I can tell already that my philosophy professor is going to be great. He's a riot and it seems like philosophy is going to be very intriguing and thought provoking. I'm not so sure I will like American Government, but the professor seems to be wanting to make it be fun. And I of course know Ethics in PR & Journalism is going to be a breeze because the professor is great and I've had her before.

I bought two textbooks today and I kind of want to cry because of how costly they are. Why am I being punished for pursuing higher education?! haha. Regardless, I'm looking for the cheapest and best conditions. And sometimes that comes at a high price. Oh well, it can't be too much more. I only have three more classes to buy for, at least I hope.